Let Mercy Come

I’m up to the the last third of the novel as far as the first round of edits go. The middle section went pretty quick, but the end third will require a lot of rewriting and scrapping to get it where it needs to be.

I figured out how I’m setting up the ‘real’ ending, which was a little stress off my back. I think I’ve just got a problem writing actual endings until the rest of the story is in place. My first novel’s ending was just as terrible as this one’s was (though the ending imagery and plot are still perfect, it’s just the lead up to that that needs work).

I didn’t do anything with Brandon in the first draft, so I’ve figured out a ‘place’ for him in the revised version. It makes a lot of sense, and helps push the plot forward. It also creates opportunities to see what Trey is really like, as opposed to the way Braden sees him. That’s one of my main concerns with the story – Trey is NOT the way that Braden chooses to see him, there’s layers there that he ignores. Some of them come up in the story, but when he lies, you’re not always aware. Not sure what to do with that.

I also managed to write a new draft to the query (that some days I think I’ll never use) that seems to kick major ass. Everyone who’s proofed it has said it sounds good, and it’s a lot more succinct than the last one. Good news for me!

The first 2/3rds of the book deal primarily with the kids, and their relationships. The last third expands that to include the adults, and how all them interact with one another. My original concern was the pacing, which was totally jacked up. The new version in my head will alleviate that. I just don’t want to ignore how Jade, Trey, Riley, Braden and Brandon are all relating to each other once the story starts building to a climax.

The other issue is answers. I didn’t answer all the questions I posited throughout the novel the first time. Some of them, I’ve cleared up to allow for some resolution, but others are left to build on later. I’m not sure if that’s a good idea or not.

My goal as of the 3rd was to get 10 pages a day. That would have me finishing the revisions around the 19th. Right now, if I keep the same length to the story (and don’t add more), I’ll finish around the 14th. I had a few really good days. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

