Year in Review

So it’s been a pretty productive year. I started writing, seriously, in April, and made some headway in that regard. I wrote approximately 150,000 final words, and another 30,000 that didn’t make the cut (roughly).

I finished one novel, submitted it to 40 agents, and received 2 full requests and 1 partial request. As the query letter wasn’t that good (I don’t think), I’m not surprised that this was all that I got. At some point, I’m going to revisit that book, and see about strengthening it to something that’s more intriguing.

I finished a first draft on a second novel, and have all but the ending of that novel revised to a solid ‘draft’ standpoint. When I pick that back up, once I finish the ending I’ll be able to start sending it out to Beta readers. I have about 60 agents on my query list for this novel, and when I get to that point, my goal is to have at least 5 requests. I think that’s possible. I’m feeling much better about the query letter for this one, but we’ll see.

For the new year, my goal is to finish at least 3 novels. Or at least 200,000 words. I think that’s workable. The next book I think I’m going to work on is probably going to be an adult UF. I don’t think it’ll work as a YA exactly. So I’m going to make the attempt. My goal with the new one is to try and push myself, to try something different. For one thing, having several viewpoints. For the other, trying to write something longer. And to help me out in the long run, I’m going to try and outline this one before I start writing.

So all in all, I had a pretty good year. I’m happy with the progress I made. Ever since I made the effort to start writing every day, I can’t just stop and go back to doing something else. So I’m going to keep working on it. And hopefully, 2008 will be the year I get an agent. And better yet, hopefully a book deal.

Leave a Reply

