Writer’s Meme


1. Your genre(s)?
Young adult, gay and lesbian, urban fantasy mainly.  I’d like to try my hand at doing a full out fantasy world building at some point in the future.  The very rare literary short – I’m not usually one for short stories, but the only ones I’ve done so far have all been passingly literary.

2. How many books have you completed?

I’ve completed one actual novel.  I’m working on the second right now – I’ve finished a rough draft, and now I’m going back and getting something I like a lot better.

3. How many books are you working on now?
Actually writing – Witch Eyes.  I’ve been taking notes and doing some Internet research for an idea that’s been stirring around my head, but I haven’t actually tried writing it yet.  I don’t have enough grasp of the story.

4. Are you a linear or chunk writer?
Linear.  Annoyingly so – if I realize I missed out on something earlier in the book, then I can’t keep going until I’ve gone back and added that in.  Which is especially annoying when I realize the beginning is off and needs some work.

5. The POV you’re most partial to?
First person as of right now.  The first novel was written in third person limited – from Dylan’s perspective – but the second was revised to be in first and has a much greater connect with the characters (I think).

6. The theme that keeps cropping up in your books?
The “idea” of destiny and the reality behind it.  In most of my writings so far, there’s usually the impression that X is “destined” to do Y.  By becoming aware of that fact, if the character chooses to fulfill their destiny, then it was only ever a choice all along.  In the second book, this is stated with a little more subtlety, which perhaps owes to the fact that Braden rebels so strongly against it.

7. How many days a week do you write?
During a first draft, I write almost every day, missing out on maybe only one day a month or so.  If I’m revising, it’s not uncommon for me to take a few days to a few weeks without looking at the manuscript.

8. What time of day do you get your best writing done?

11AM – 3 PM.  Sometimes 10PM to 1 AM.

9. Who are your inspirations?
L.J. Smith (Night World/Secret Circle), Neil Gaiman, Wally Lamb.

I have a few authors that are my inspiration of what NOT to do, as well.  The type who, after I’ve finished their book, make me think to myself “Okay, I can definitely do better than that.  I just have to be better than that, and I’ll be happy.”  But I won’t mention who those authors are because that’s not cool.

10. Who are your favorite authors to read? (different from mentors)

Elaine Pagels – Christian/Theological Non-fiction
Kelley Armstrong – I’m always entertained
Jim Butcher – Dresden is fun.
And the above 3, of course.

Leave a comment