Interviewed

There’s an interview with me done by the incomparable Tara here .  It was a lot of fun, and I’ve been diligently following her series of interviews about writers on the road to publication. 

A little backstory.  I’ve been a longtime lurker on the Verla Kay boards (aka the Blue Boards) for a year or so.  I actually started posting sometime last fall/winter.  And when I started submitting, I kept track of some of my hits and misses in the Agents Response forums.  After a few weeks, I noticed that this girl I didn’t know and I were getting hits at a LOT of the same places.  Of course, she was a few weeks ahead of me in some cases, but the timing was strange.

I can’t remember which one of us PMed the other first, but once we started talking and comparing notes, we realized how much we have in common.  We’re roughly the same age (give or take a year or two), and our submission stories are crazy similar.  You know how people talk about the Lincoln/Kennedy coincidences?  That’s what I felt like when I started talking to Tara.

We’ve become fairly good friends ever since, and we email back and forth all the time.  We’ve been going through the same situations at roughly the same time, so having that friend who knows EXACTLY what you’re going through has been incredibly helpful.  She’s become yet another one of those friends I can email at 2 am in an absolute panic, and when I wake up the next morning there’s an email waiting that calms me down pretty well. 😉  Plus, she lives in Washington, and that gets major bonus points from me.

So when she said she wanted to do a series of interviews about the process of writing after you get an agent, I knew I wanted to do it right away.  It just sounded like such a great idea, and she was right: there wasn’t a lot of information out there for people who weren’t in the agent trench anymore, but who were still working towards publication.

So thanks Tara, for becoming such a great friend.  And for doing such a kick ass interview! 🙂

6 thoughts on “Interviewed

  1. Aw, shucks. Thank you for the kind words, and thank you for listening to my incessant rambling 🙂 I hope to see you out here in the great northwest soon!

  2. Awesome! 🙂 I’ll have to finish reading tomorrow–falling asleep at the keyboard–but you’ve got me intrigued with magical photophobia. I’m hypersensitive to both light and UV, so that definitely piqued my interest. As a bright, sunny day is my idea of hell, I’m curious to see how Braden deals with the magical equivalent.

    Oh, and just for the record, I used to live on a street called Braden Avenue. 🙂 Ahh, bizarre coincidences.

Leave a Reply

