Distractions

Today’s been interesting.

There’s about three sections of the book that, during revision, requires a lot of work.  I know going into it that these are the parts where I’ve got to roll up my sleeves and get to work.  I’m done with the first part, breezed through the sections in between and am now right in the middle of the second.  Essentially, I’ve got two chapters to write.  So what am I doing instead?

Were the World Mine

And that’s just one of them.  I’ve either been watching the movie, listening to the soundtrack, or having it on in the background all day long.  Plus there’s this Bejeweled Blitz game on Facebook that my agent kept talking about, so I was like “Oh, I’ll play for a minute or two.”  And then I looked up and saw that HOURS had gone by.

(Okay seriously, I’m writing a post about getting distracted while writing, and I got distracted while writing it.  I just spent half an hour watching Youtube videos).

So yeah, but at the same time, as much time as I spent being distracted today, I also knocked out a big portion of the writing that I needed to get done.  The segment of scenes that I’ve been stuck on all week.

So what’s your typical distraction?  Music, games?  Television, movies?

7 thoughts on “Distractions

  1. BLOGS!! And uhm…TWITTER. Damn, seems to be a theme around here. But since we got rid of cable, there’s ~less~ to lure me.

    And WELCOME TO WORDPRESS, SEXYFACE!!!

  2. Aaah I want to see that so bad and it’s! All! Your! Fault!

    So yeah, but at the same time, as much time as I spent being distracted today, I also knocked out a big portion of the writing that I needed to get done. The segment of scenes that I’ve been stuck on all week.

    See I think there is this delicate balance between distraction and writing. ONE NEEDS THE OTHER. AND SO IT SHALL BE. Forever.

    (… Mine is Twitter. Cough.)

  3. Let me tell you how much I’m loving WordPress, btw. I post something, and it actually show up!

    Maybe when I’m done watching it a million times I will send it to you, Courtney. But NO PROMISES because its addictive. I don’t know that I can go cold turkey.

  4. But I have a theory *cough* rationalization *cough* about this… I think that while you were playing Bejeweled Blitz, you were really subconsciously working through the tricky chapters. You just needed to distract part of your mind so that the other could unravel your story problems.

    So, play away. And call it WORKING HARD. This is a beautiful theory, y?

  5. Spider. And other games, but it all comes back to Spider.

    Twitter, and blogs.

    HOWEVER, I do think *sometimes* you need that little bit of distraction to allow your subconscious to figure things out. As long as you don’t take it to extremes and suck up all your writing time, I *think* it’s okay.

    Also, I had a major Sally Field when I saw you linked to my blog. *blinks tears* Thanks!

  6. The movie looks amazing – I can see why you’d be distracted! My distraction, recently discovered, is all manner of farm-building games on facebook. I get nothing writen, but I have fields of potatoes to harvest. Oy.

Leave a Reply

