August 2nd

Funny how I was talking yesterday about figuring out some sort of direction for the blog, and then I woke up this morning to realize that people were doing BEDA (Blog Everyday in April) again for August.  So I thought, why not?

I went to bed early last night, and have spent the majority of today trying to wake up as a result.  I’m only just not starting to wake up and its after 5 pm.  But I’ve got a chapter to finish, and I’m determined to get it done.  One of the nice things with this rewrite is that my chapters aren’t incredibly long – leaving me a lot of spare room to flesh out certain scenes or characters if I need to.

And I think one thing I’ll do with this is include one writing tip for every blog post (excluding yesterday).

Writing Tip:  Start your query letter long before you’ve got a finished draft.  Its the first, and sometimes the only, thing that potential agents or editors are going to see from you.  You don’t want it to be longer than two-three normal-sized paragraphs, so try for brevity.  Ask friends who haven’t read your book to read the query.  Does it interest them?  Do they understand the general plot?  Does the story seem to ‘pop’?  These are the kinds of questions you’ll want to ask yourself.

Leave a Reply

