Friday Randoms

So I owe a real blog  post, but edits and other things have EATEN MY BRAIN this week.

  • First, that thing you have to write that is similar to an outline and also summarizes your book?  It was decided by Twitter this week that the proper form of that word is synopsi. Technically, that would be the plural of synopsis, but I don’t think synopsis quite conveys the amount of evil that synopsi does.  Synopsi sounds like something slithery, like something that has tentacles, or tentacles with those gross sucker things attached.

So, y’know.  Just in case you didn’t know what to call it.  There’s also a hashtag.  #downwithsynopsi

Man, someone should really draw a picture of what a synopsi looks like in its naturally slimy habitat.

  • I saw this article earlier in the week, and thought it was just amazing.  You should go check it out.
  • And my Rebels video went up a few days early this week.  I talked about religion and morality in YA, and sadly had to cut out a lot of what I had to say to keep it under 4 minutes.  Sadsigh.  But check it out, and weigh on your opinion.  Should YA books have a moral lesson, or not?  Are writers responsible for showing that all actions have suitable consequences?

And your moment of zen:

2 thoughts on “Friday Randoms

  1. “tentacles with those gross sucker things attached”

    Ah, saw them on a Futurama multi-parter. They were called “gentacles” 😉

    I’m still calling ’em “synopses”, though. Makes ’em sound like a Greek god named Synopses 😉

  2. That mother’s letter was incredible. I couldn’t agree more. I hope one day, everyone feels the same way. And I loved your vlog. I’m not big on religious undertones–I think religion is very private, so I’m not at all inclined to talk about it–especially not in our books. There’s nothing worse than talking to someone new for a few minutes and having them ask you what church you go to in an effort to “recruit” you.

    In my experience, religion (any kind) helps build a moral foundation, but I’ve met a whole lot of moral people who don’t practice any religion. I’ve also met some “religious” people who make really crappy decisions and are huge assholes. But I do think YA authors can use books as an opportunity to present situations where characters are held responsible for their actions. I really do think books can be a learning experience–who knows, maybe teenagers could learn from a character in a book they’ve read. BEFORE I FALL is a good example of a book that is not preachy at all, but presents consequences in a way that could get teenagers talking, reflecting and maybe even changing.

Leave a Reply

