Being Cassandra

So, do you ever have those situations where you tell someone “Let me tell you what’s going to happen.”  And you tell them about the consequences to their action and…they don’t listen.  Things occur, everything happens JUST like you said it would, and that’s when the shock rolls in.  You were right!  It was like you just predicted the future!  Witch!  (Okay, maybe not that last one).

In normal circumstances, you’d be surprised too.  Except the same thing happened last week.  And the week before that.  And the week before that.  You’re like Cassandra, foretelling the future only no one wants to listen.  Either that, or you’re just really smart.  (We’ll go with the latter.  Congratulations on being a genius!)

Like for example, I had a friend who wanted me to critique her book.  And I’ve been DYING to read this book for awhile.  So I said yes, definitely.  Then she decided she wanted to wait until after the book was through to copyedits.  “But what if I find problems?” I asked.  “You won’t,” she said.  “Besides, we can make changes.”  “Not after copyedits,” I pointed out.  “And trust me, I’m a harsh critiquer.  You want me to critique it now.”

So long story short, I got to critique the story this weekend, BEFORE they turned in their edits, and my friend even ADMITTED that this was the best possible decision.  If I read the ARC and pointed out some of the things I pointed out, she’d die, she claimed.  She also swore she’d never doubt me again.  (Except she totally will.  We both know it’s true).

This happens with other friends all the time.  But those friends have developed a 3 day delay.  They’ll ask for advice, I’ll give it, they’ll blow me off.  Then 3 days later, they’ll regurgitate the advice I already gave them, claim it as their own, and think they’re the smartest things around.

So yeah, that’s all I’ve got on this Monday.  People don’t believe me when I say things, and then they can’t believe I’m always right.  It’s a curse, I tell you.  But at least there’s always the awkward Rebels vlog to keep me humble.  This week we talked about where we are in the process.  You’ll have to forgive my out of it performance – I stopped to film after a five or six hour writing marathon to film my vlog, and was totally disoriented and stuck in the smexy scene I’d left off in.

4 thoughts on “Being Cassandra

    • Ha, I don’t know why I started using ‘smexy.’ Someone else started using it and I picked it up like a bad habit.

      Witch Eyes is a Fall 2011 release now. Possibly September, but that’s still up in the air.

Leave a Reply

