Five Reasons You Should Be Watching The Vampire Diaries

Odds are, if you’re reading this post, you’re already a fan of the Vampire Diaries.  If you’re not…well, we have some serious work ahead of us.  But I just finished watching the season premiere, and I had to blog about the show and why it’s so amazing.

1.  Dialogue: If you want to know how to write fantastic dialogue for teens, there are a few golden gods you worship.  Joss Whedon.  And Kevin Williamson.  Kevin gave us the super-peppy Dawson’s Creek, and I mean…come on.  Some of the Vampire Diaries dialogue is EPIC.  Granted, 90 percent of the best lines all come from Damon, but Damon is just awesome all around.  Not only is the dialogue good, but the writers are SO incredibly self-aware.  They comment on the genre, they comment on themselves, and they just have fun with it.

  • That’s for me to know and for you to dot, dot, dot
  • If I see something I haven’t seen before, I’ll throw a dollar at it.
  • I have two liters of soccer mom in the fridge.

2. Setting. The Vampire Diaries isn’t just a show about a teenage vampire romance slash love triangle.  It’s about a small town.  They don’t just split the show between Bayside and The Max – we see all sorts of locations in town.  The show is filmed outside Atlanta, but you totally get that Virginia vibe.  And for any writer who has been trying to bring their town to life, this can be a great primer.

3. The Characters.  We get everything, and they never remain static.  You can actually SEE the growth throughout the first season.  There’s the witchy best friend (who just might rival Willow for the throne someday real soon), the insecure cheerleader, the devilishly handsome bad boy, the broken hearted good guy.  Evey character that shows up is utterly dynamic, and it’s really hard to hate ANY of them.  So when they inevitably get killed off, it’s a heartbreaker.

4.  The plotting.  I mean seriously.  Shut. the front. door.  You’ve got the “normal high school” plots.  The “vampire romance” plots.  And the “small town with a dark history” plots.  And all of them are woven together in ways that you never see coming.  No plot is sacred to interference.  And things are put into play that may not come to a head for a whole season…but when they do it’s a home run.  From Vicki, to the tomb, to the history of Mystic Falls, it’s insane the way they’ve built up this show.  Also, see above re: heartbreak.  Kevin Williamson has NO problem killing off characters.

5.  The Eye candy.  Come on, you know you were waiting for it.  Everyone on the show is ridiculously gorgeous.  Of  course all that dark lighting makes it hard to tell sometimes, but come on.  Even the guest stars are insane.  Like Malese Jow, Sean Faris, Kelly Wu, and David Anders.  Forget about it!

The second season premiered last night on the CW.  The first season is available on DVD.

8 thoughts on “Five Reasons You Should Be Watching The Vampire Diaries

  1. All very true. And I love how the writers can be counted on to end every episode with an epic, gasp-inducing scene that makes you scream, “Why can’t it be next week already?”

  2. I LOVE this show. I usually miss the Thursday night shows and have to catch them online, but yeah, I don’t skip an episode at all! Great dialogue, great characters—LOVE it!! 🙂

  3. Ooh, I LOVE this show so much. I agree with all of your points. And I LOVE Damon. His lines, his looks, his eyes, his lines, his eyes… oh, wait. Anyway, great post. I found your blog through The bookanistas, great review on MATCHED, I loved it too. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention Five Reasons You Should Be Watching The Vampire Diaries | Scott Tracey – Young Adult Writer -- Topsy.com

  5. I hate to admit it, but I’ve never seen the show. After your glowing review, I just don’t see how I can afford not to watch. It sounds like research for those of us who write YA.

  6. Lisa – It may not be everyone’s cup of tea, but I really think there’s a lot that YA writers can learn from the show.

    Theresa – VD definitely has it’s scary moments, but I think the benefits of the show make it worthwhile.

  7. I heart this show like crazy! I love all your reasons and you picked the best Damon lines to quote. And you’re right about the setting although in my recaps I routinely make fun of the fact that they only have ONE restaurant/bar in Mystic Falls:-)

Leave a Reply

