Not Ever Title Has to Be Witty, Right?

Okay, so I was going to post a short story yesterday, but I wound up not liking the way it ended.  And considering the high standard I’ve already set for myself, I couldn’t just post something sub-standard.  But!  There is a silver lining.  While I was writing this blog post, I had an inspiration!  Okay, so it was only one line, but it is the START of inspiration!

“My parents think I’m a cutter.  I wish it was that simple.”

So hopefully that will be up next Wednesday.

Oh, and I was interviewered on the Book Chic Club blog as part of an LGBT-theme week.  I get to talk a little about WITCH EYES, which is always awkward. 😉  There’s a lot of great posts this week – interviews with authors like Brent Hartinger (who also has a book coming out with Flux next year), and reviews of books like Scars by Cheryl Rainfield.  You should go check out all the posts!

See you guys next week.  My last full week in my apartment!

6 thoughts on “Not Ever Title Has to Be Witty, Right?

  1. Thanks much for linking to the interview and for promoting the overall event! 🙂 I’m so happy I found you and your book and that you wanted to participate!

    By the way, I had a question. I noticed on your sidebar that you have word count trackers. How do you decide the overall word count/word goal for any new project? I’ve seen several authors do this and I wonder how they choose that goal. It seems kinda arbitrary but maybe there’s something to it? I just write until the story’s done; no real overall goal for me.

    • Mine are almost always a guesstimate. My books usually end up in the 70-90K range, so I adjust the end total accordingly. With the Witch Eyes sequel, the first book was originally about 80K, so I’m guessing the sequel will be about that length. And then with the Dream Thief, I have a feeling that’s going to be shorter, so I just arbitrarily picked 75K as a good number.

Leave a Reply

