The Litmus Test

I was supposed to film a vlog on Saturday night.  About 11 pm, my roommate comes upstairs, and asks me what the deal is.  And I say:

“I’m watching Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.  How do you think I’m feeling right now?”

Now, I’m sure in a normal household, this is a strange and unusual conversation.  But not here.  Here, we regularly discuss what we’d do if a significant other admitted they were a werewolf, and creepy demon children who peep in your windows.

But I think it’s safe to safe that a movie like “Charlie and the Chocolate Factory” is a litmus test for how I’m feeling.  It’s not exactly…a Scott movie, shall we say.  If I wanted to watch something childreny, I’d watch Harry Potter (I mean, duh).  Normally I watch things that are a lot less visually stimulating, and rely heavily on dark, spooky things.

So long story short, no vlog, and I got to watch a magic flying elevator.  And I still don’t feel fantastic, but I’m not watching…oh God, I don’t even know.  All I know is that even a kinda dark and creepy Charlie and the Chocolate Factory was too much for me.  Maybe if I keep feeling sick, I’ll pop in The Little Mermaid 2: Return to the Sea.

What about you?  Do you do something out of character like this when you’re sick?  Or are you all about the comfort foods?

4 thoughts on “The Litmus Test

  1. Hope you’re feeling better. I’m usually going at a hundred miles an hour and rarely sit for longer than five minutes (unless I’m writing), and I don’t watch television (except NFL football). I act completely out of character when I’m sick in that I’m flat out on the couch either asleep or watching television. My 3-yo’s favorite ‘sick’ movies are all The Little Mermaid movies, so I’ve seen those a ton! 🙂

  2. When I’m sick I go straight for my comfort books–old favorites I’ve read so often I barely have to focus on the page. Worlds I’ve visited so many times I feel totally at home when I’m in them.

    Hope you feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

