New Year, New Digs, New Plans

Holy hell, I hope I remember how to do an actual blog post!  Otherwise, I’m in some trouble.

I’m always weird around the holidays.  December’s got a lot of baggage, but it’s also got my birthday and Christmas.  But I’m not a big Christmas person – I’d much rather give people random presents as I think of them, than to be pressured into finding the perfect gift for someone.  This might be why I always default to gift cards.

So anyway, I was supposed to Get Things Done in December…and not so much.  So now January has become Get Things Done month.  I’m not setting major goals for myself this year, aside from my writerly goals.  Last year I wrote two novels, and revised two novels (one for myself, one for my editor).    So this year, I’m going to try to write three novels, and I’m only sure of the first one.  Plus, I’m going to try and revise at least two, if not three projects this year.  Again, one will be for the editor, but getting other things polished up is a good idea.

Leah has gone on vacation with her brother, which means that the angst levels around here will be going down significantly for the next ten days.  So I’m hoping I really WILL get a lot of things done.  I may have suggested that I was going to write a 50,000 word novel while she was gone.

I have a few ranty-type things lurking in the back of my head that I might be doing soon, but the big project I’m working on next is going to be a week dedicated to query letters.  I LOVE working on query letters.  So if you know someone that’s getting ready to query, or someone whose looking for some help, send them my way.  I don’t know if anyone would actually SEND me their query, but I’ll totally work on them (provided I can also post the query on my blog).

So that’s that for Monday.  Nothing interesting in Scott-land (haha, see what I did there?  Oh I’m so witty, I don’t know how I’m not writing for TV).  Rebels will be back the week of the 17th – everyone’s traveling right now, or joining the circus. 😉

Oh yeah.  And congrats to EVERYONE who has a book coming out THIS YEAR.  You can say that now.  THIS YEAR.  It sounds so strange to your ears, I promise.  I’ve been saying it for 3 days (while staring at my cover).

6 thoughts on “New Year, New Digs, New Plans

  1. _Great_ post, Scott. January is my get things done/setup/upandrunning month, too. I will for sure let some writer friends know about the query “thing” next week.

    Btw…your book comes out THIS YEAR!

    • Thank you! I’m definitely trying to use this month to get myself organized and productive for the year. I have so many things I WANT to do, I need to make sure I can fit it all in easily.

    • Absolutely not! Start now! That gives you just enough time to work on the query off and on until you’re ready to start submitting.

      I think the more you work on a query, the stronger it gets. So 4 months worth is a lot of goodness (at least in my opinion).

Leave a Reply

