The Bookanistas: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Okay, so I’m going to be the first to admit that I was late to the Anna and the French Kiss party.  When the Bookanistas first started passing around an ARC, I skipped out on adding my name because I didn’t think I’d like it.

Which is true.  I freaking loved it.  We picked Anna for our Cleveland YA book club this month, and so I read it while Leah was off on her exotic vacation.  I started at around 10 pm…and did not put the book down until I was finished.  I can’t even tell you what time that was, because I literally shambled to my bed, and laid awake in the dark absorbing what I’d just read.

Here’s what Amazon has to say:

Anna was looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. So she’s less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris–until she meets Etienne St. Clair. Smart, charming, beautiful, Etienne has it all . . . including a serious girlfriend.

But in the City of Light, wishes have a way of coming true. Will a year of romantic near-misses end with their long-awaited French kiss? Stephanie Perkins keeps the romantic tension crackling and the attraction high in a debut guaranteed to make toes tingle and hearts melt.

What I liked:

The voice.  The voice.  The voice.  It was approachable and realistic and sucked me in the moment I started.  The characters and their relationships with each other were all fascinating – St. Clair was one of my personal favorites (obviously).  He also has two or three of my favorite moments from the book.

The characters weren’t the typical YA roles I expected, and even as unique as they were, they continued to defy convention.  I liked that there was tension between all the characters, not just the romantic leads.  All the friendships and relationships had a sense of reality, because NO ONE has a perfect friendship.  There’s always little idiosyncrasies tucked in there.  I’m not normally a fan of the cute, but there are several moments in the book that are so cute, it’s disarming.  You can’t help but be a fan.

Anna and the French Kiss reminds me of the really old black and white love stories.   It’s a classic.

This is the first book I’ve read in 2011, and I’ve got to say that it’s most likely going to end the year as one of my top favorites.

Read this book if you like things that are awesome.

What the other Bookanistas are up to:

11 thoughts on “The Bookanistas: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

  1. Scott, I have a request. I like your blog, I try to remember to come by, but I often forget. Is there any way you can add Google Friend Connect? I like to use my blogger dashboard to keep up on new posts, and I don’t like Google Reader or using an RSS feed. If you could let me follow that way I would be able to visit a lot more often.

    If not, that’s cool, I’ll just have to try to remember. Thanks man!

  2. It’s the voice that sells ANNA, really makes you fall in love. So funny and clever. Like you, I hadn’t expected to like it nearly as much as I did. I think maybe the description or the cover–something–makes it seem like it’s just a funny little romance. But it’s so much more than that. Hard to put into words. But you did a brilliant job. Great review, Scott!

Leave a Reply

