The Bookanistas: The Liar Society by Lisa and Laura Roecker

What Goodreads says:

Kate Lowry didn’t think dead best friends could send e-mails. But when she gets an e-mail from Grace, she’s not so sure.

To: KateLowry@pemberlybrown.edu
Sent: Sun 9/14 11:59 PM
From: GraceLee@pemberlybrown.edu
Subject: (no subject)

Kate,
I’m here…
sort of.
Find Cameron.
He knows.
I shouldn’t be writing.
Don’t tell.
They’ll hurt you.

Now Kate has no choice but to prove once and for all that Grace’s death was more than just a tragic accident. But secrets haunt the halls of her elite private school. Secrets people will do anything to protect. Even if it means getting rid of the girl trying to solve a murder…

What I say: I love this book.  I’m a huge fan of murder mysteries and mysteries in general.  So even though I had to bully my way into being Lisa’s friend in order to read a copy of their book, it was totally worth it.  Pemberly Brown is quite possibly one of my favorite fictional high schools ever.  The school is such a hotbed of customs and superstitions that I adore it.  Scattered throughout the school are the Stations, each with it’s own crest and Latin phrase.  Even the school’s motto plays it’s part in the novel: Veritas Vos Liberabit – the truth shall make you free.

The Contest – I have a signed copy of LIAR SOCIETY to give away, inscribed with one of the many Latin phrases that appears in the book.  So here’s what the contest entails.  Think about what YOUR personal motto would be. This can be serious, funny, deep, introspective.  It doesn’t have to be in Latin, but bonus points if you do.

THEN – Tweet about the contest, Facebook it, blog about it.  Leave your motto in a comment along with your email address, and tell me where/how you spread the word about the contest. You can also follow me on Twitter if you like here, but that’s not a requirement to win. 🙂

Winner will receive: a signed final copy of THE LIAR SOCIETY, a signed copy of A TOUCH MORTAL, and a random smorgasboard of bookmarks and swag-like things that I’ve collected over the months.

The contest is open until Monday, April 14th at Noon, EST.

Sorry, US and Canada only.

20 thoughts on “The Bookanistas: The Liar Society by Lisa and Laura Roecker

  1. Loved The Liar Society! I’m not sure what my motto would be. And I have no idea how to write in Latin. So I looked one up:

    Sto unus in a solium repletus per unda quod a toaster , intereo unus.

    In other words, “Stand alone in a bathtub filled with water and a toaster, die alone.”

    Alas, apparently there is no Latin word for toaster.

    I shall go tweet now 😉

  2. Pingback: Contests – whatchYAreadin?

  3. I’m on the brink of ordering this, even though I need to stop spending money. If it’s at the local B&N though, I’m getting it.

    As for my motto, well, it’s sort of an inside-joke with my friends, but to sum it up in one word, it’s “schneizeleffort.” This can be defined as “putting in only the minimal amount of effort to get through life in a relatively successful fashion.” For example, I could get up an hour earlier to do my hair and have breakfast before work, but I’m too schneizeleffort for that.

    Tweet: http://twitter.com/kangaru/status/45906113501212672

    nudging.along[at]gmail.com

  4. Well I love cupcakes and cookies and well all things sweet so my motto, while not original, would be:

    “Life is short, eat desert first”
    In Latin “Vita est brevis eat solitudo primoris” or at least thats what the Latin translator gave me 😉

    I retweeted: https://twitter.com/#!/BsFirefly

    Great contest!

  5. Hi Scott! thank you so much for hosting the contest!
    my motto would probably be…Live and Let Live. Considering the fact that the country I live in is crazy-violent, it sums up my view on life pretty well, methinks.
    And I Facebook’d about the contest here. my profile is sort of on private, so I kind of took a pic of the status update…I hope that works, too.
    Once again, thank you for the contest! 🙂

  6. My motto is, “It is always darkest before the dawn.” My grandmother used to say that, and we have it written everywhere in our house. On a lighter note, I use “Don’t assume, becuase it makes an ass out of you and me.”
    I also tweeted. Fingers crossed!

  7. After careful deliberation, my personal motto would be: “Proceed with caution; strange, awkward, and/or embarrassing things seem to happen quite often.” <<<Actually I lack creativity so that is the best I could come up with! Thanks for the giveaway.
    I tweeted about it:

    -Katelyn
    katelynsblog[at]aol[dot]com

  8. Hey, Scott!
    Oh my gosh, this is a delicious giveaway! I’ve been dying to get my hands on both of these books. Thank you so much for hosting 🙂 I followed you on twitter and retweeted your tweet about the contest. I also linked to it on my tumblr here.
    My motto is, without a doubt, “This too shall pass” or “Hoc etiam transibit”. I know, I know, I’m such a cliché! I’m okay with that, though. I suppose it’s more of a mantra, really. Regardless, this phrase has helped me get through some tough times. It’s calming.

    lillyisabear (at) gmail (dot) com

    Thanks again for the giveaway!

Leave a Reply

