Year of the Witch

I swear it started out as a joke.  Awhile back, a few of us authors on Twitter started talking about how many witch books were coming out in 2011.  And then we started noticing more and more.  And then someone called 2011 The Year of the Witch.  And it totally is.  Here’s why.

First, let’s look at the year itself.  2011.  And do you know what 2+0+11 equals?  That’s right.  Lucky number 13.  Perfect size for a witch’s coven.

Next, let’s look at some of the books we’ve got coming out.  Each of them unique in their own way.

The Iron Witch by Karen Mahoney

Release Date: Already Out (so buy it!)
 
Freak. That’s what her classmates call seventeen-year-old Donna Underwood. When she was seven, a horrific fey attack killed her father and drove her mother mad. Donna’s own nearly fatal injuries from the assault were fixed by magic—the iron tattoos branding her hands and arms. The child of alchemists, Donna feels cursed by the magical heritage that destroyed her parents and any chance she had for a normal life. The only thing that keeps her sane and grounded is her relationship with her best friend, Navin Sharma.
 
When the darkest outcasts of Faerie—the vicious wood elves—abduct Navin, Donna finally has to accept her role in the centuries old war between the humans and the fey. Assisted by Xan, a gorgeous half-fey dropout with secrets of his own, Donna races to save her friend—even if it means betraying everything her parents and the alchemist community fought to the death to protect.
 

Blood Magic by Tessa Gratton

Release Date: May 24
 
This page-turning debut novel will entice fans who like their paranormal romances dark and disturbing. It’s a natural next-read for fans of Stephenie Meyer, Carrie Jones, and Becca Fitzpatrick. But instead of mythical creatures, blood magic has everything to do with primal human desires like power, wealth, and immortality.
 
Everywhere Silla Kennicott turns she sees blood. She can’t stop thinking about her parents alleged murder-suicide. She is consumed by a book filled with spells that arrives mysteriously in the mail. The spells share one common ingredient: blood, and Silla is more than willing to cast a few. What’s a little spilled blood if she can uncover the truth? And then there’s Nick—the new guy at school who makes her pulse race. He has a few secrets of his own and is all too familiar with the lure of blood magic. Drawn together by a combination of fate and chemistry, Silla and Nick must find out who else in their small Missouri town knows their secret and will do anything to take the book and magic from Silla.
 

The Near Witch by Victoria Schwab

Release date: August 2nd
 
The Near Witch is only an old story told to frighten children. If the wind calls at night, you must not listen. The wind is lonely, and always looking for company.  And there are no strangers in the town of Near.
These are the truths that Lexi has heard all her life. But when an actual stranger—a boy who seems to fade like smoke—appears outside her home on the moor at night, she knows that at least one of these sayings is no longer true.
 
The next night, the children of Near start disappearing from their beds, and the mysterious boy falls under suspicion. Still, he insists on helping Lexi search for them. Something tells her she can trust him.
 
As the hunt for the children intensifies, so does Lexi’s need to know—about the witch that just might be more than a bedtime story, about the wind that seems to speak through the walls at night, and about the history of this nameless boy.
 
Part fairy tale, part love story, Victoria Schwab’s debut novel is entirely original yet achingly familiar: a song you heard long ago, a whisper carried by the wind, and a dream you won’t soon forget.
 

Witch Eyes by some nerd

Release date: September 8th
 
Braden was born with witch eyes: the ability to see the world as it truly is: a blinding explosion of memories, darkness, and magic. The power enables Braden to see through spells and lies, but at the cost of horrible pain.
 
After a terrifying vision reveals imminent danger for the uncle who raised and instructed him, Braden retreats to Belle Dam, an old city divided by two feuding witch dynasties. As rival family heads Catherine Lansing and Jason Thorpe desperately try to use Braden’s powers to unlock Belle Dam’s secrets, Braden vows never to become their sacrificial pawn. But everything changes when Braden learns that Jason is his father–and Trey, the enigmatic guy he’s falling for, is Catherine’s son.
 
To stop an insidious dark magic from consuming the town, Braden must master his gift—and risk losing the one he loves.
 
 

Then True Blood, a show which has focused on serial killers and maenads and vampires before, releases a promo and reveals that season 4 is going to be “the season of the witch.”  Again, we’ve got witches.  Lots of witches.  And you know if they’re on True Blood, they’re going to want to do bad things with you.  (Sorry, I had t0).

And then there’s Kevin Williamson.  Sure, he does a little show about vampires, but now it turns out that he’s attached to another project, also based on novels written by L.J. Smith. Books about witches.  Yeah, that’s right, there might be ANOTHER show about witches coming this fall.  Not since Charmed first aired have I been so excited for a TV show, no lie.

If you haven’t read the Secret Circles books (and why would you ever admit that in public, let alone on this blog), here’s a fan-made trailer from Youtube.  Note: this isn’t footage of the Secret Circle show – assuming that gets picked up, we won’t see any of that until sometime in the summer.

Now that is a LOT of witches, and that’s probably just scratching the surface!  What do you think?  Is there something particularly witchy that you’re waiting for this year?  Anything I missed?

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “Year of the Witch

  1. So, does this mean they’re eventually going to turn all L.J. Smith series into screen adaptations? Because I’ve been waiting for over a decade to see The Forbidden Game Trilogy on screen. I’ve read that trilogy at least once a year since it was published.

    • I would LOVE to see them do something with The Forbidden Game. You’re not alone in that regard. Although, if we’re being honest, The Vampire Diaries was the LAST of her series that I would have wanted to see made into a TV show.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s