BEA Thoughts (the first few days)

It’s been 24 hours since we got back to Ohio, and I spent about 16 of those hours completely zonked out.  The other 8 were spent staring at this blog post, trying to figure out how to write it all.

We left Ohio on Sunday, in the early hours of the morning.  As in, we didn’t sleep the night before.  And we took the train, which was an…experience.  Not necessarily one I would repeat – especially not when I could cut 10 hours out of my commute. 😉

That night, we got in late (thanks to train malfunctions) and luckily caught a cab and got to our hotel in short order.  And then, since we were so close to Times Square, we left to go explore.  Also, one of the hilights of our trip?  The water pressure and the shower in our hotel room.  AMAZING.  I thought about giving it a kiss goodbye when we left, but I thought that might be weird.

That night, amidst other dramas, we got to meet up with a whole bunch of book bloggers and generally fantastic people, including Mitali (co-founder of the Teen Author Carnival, and an overall rockstar), Jeffrey and Jeremy West, Kelsey Dickson, Chelsea Swiggett (who I mean, I already know, but she’d be angry with me if I forgot about her), and a whole bunch of others.

Monday was the Teen Author Carnival, and I have to tell you guys.  I was BLOWN AWAY.  There were so many authors, so many readers, and both Mitali and Devyn had done a fantastic job.

I ended up doing two panels, the first being moderated by Chelsea and Karsten Knight, who not only strolled in two minutes late, but set up our first question (“If you could be any breakfast food, what would you be, and why?”) just so he could wrap it up by telling us all that he would be brunch, because “it’s just like breakfast, but it’s a little late.”  Chelsea asked us these really deep, tough questions, and Karsten threw us softballs.  It was a nice mix.  Btw, if you were wondering, in the event of a zombie apocalypse, I would title my last novel “RUN!!!”

And then the second was the Debut Author Panel.  I had run up to Mitali and one point, and begged to sit next to Michelle Hodkin, but we were a chair short so I ended up grabbing the chair on the end instead.  But I got to sign next to her, so that was fantastic!  I also got to meet Nick James, who is another Flux author and his book comes out the same day as mine.  So I was really excited to meet him, and also to snag a copy of his book (which I did at BEA).  I felt like the second panel went better than the first (at least for me).  We all got to talk publishing stories, and then it got turned over to the audience to ask questions, many of which were so thought-provoking.  Someone came up to me later and asked, “When the hell did you get funny?” So apparently, I made people laugh.  Win.

Oh! And Flux sent Nick and I these awesome posterboards with our covers on them for TAC – only someone STOLE mine before the event even started!  We didn’t find out until later (and I think Devyn stole Nick’s, but I can’t remember for sure).

There were so many authors I got to meet for the first time, and I can say without reservation that I didn’t get to talk to ANY of them long enough.  I’ve been looking forward to meeting Kirsten Hubbard and Nova Ren Suma in particular, and neither disappointed.  I swear I ran into Kirsten a dozen times over the course of the week, and we were both always either heading into a line, or heading off somewhere else.  Like ships passing in the night.  Carrie Jones was absolutely hysterical, and Michelle Zink totally swooped in to introduce herself.  (I love her!) Hannah Moskowitz is taller in person (I don’t know why that’s important, but it’s stuck in my brain), and ALL of the Rebels are exactly like you would expect them to be from watching their videos.  Karsten is a dork, Gretchen is hilarious (probably MORE funny in person), and Hannah is just as adorably scattered.

Oh, and I should probably talk about who we stayed with.  In our hotel room, it was me, Karsten, Courtney Allison Moulton, and Leah all rooming together.  Which is great…in theory.  Less great at 3 am when you’re trying to sleep and you’re rooming with a bunch of dorks.

And now I definitely have to talk about Michelle Hodkin, another one of my most favorite people ever.  In case you don’t know, Michelle has the most amazing handwriting I’ve seen, and another reason I was sad I didn’t get an ARC of MARA DYER was because she wouldn’t get to sign it.  Also, she was all dressed up and super cute.  I felt like a shlub sitting next to her at TAC.  She brought not one, but two assistants (her brothers) who handed out tee shirts during the signing portion of TAC.  We got to hang out later that night, and have a Serious Talk about writing and publishing, while Leah, Karsten, and Courtney watched Youtube videos and laughed themselves to death.

Okay, I think that’s enough for now.  I’ll talk about BEA later in the week. 😉

3 thoughts on “BEA Thoughts (the first few days)

  1. I can’t wait for you to get to the Good Stuff — you know, the parts with ME in them *winks & blows kisses*

  2. It sucks that I missed TAC. I didn’t know Karsten would be there! I would’ve loved to meet him, you, Hannah, and pretty much everyone else there. I wish I could’ve gone but a job interview is more important than book events unfortunately, lol. Glad to hear you had a good time and can’t wait to read about the rest of your week!

  3. And despite all the excitement, you still found time to email me. I knew the whole stalking you thing would eventually pay off 😛

    It sounds awesome and, given the number of times your name cropped up online, I’m guessing you were pretty bewitching. (witching, Witch Eyes, work with me here).

Leave a Reply

